Government contributors

Photo: Ryan Brown The UK and others participate in a UN Trust Fund panel session for CSW 59.
Photo: UN Women/Ryan Brown

In 1996, UN Member States established the UN Trust Fund to End Violence against Women (UN Trust Fund) to accelerate implementation of commitments made in the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action on ending violence against women and girls. The fund provides grants and expert support to civil society organizations worldwide.

Over the last 24 years, the UN Trust Fund has relied on voluntary contributions and support primarily from UN Member States, which provide approximately 94 per cent of overall resources.

Ongoing support for and trust in the UN Trust Fund’s mandate and operations has enabled it to fund 572 initiatives to date largely implemented by civil society organizations, most of them women-led, women's rights and grassroots organizations. Recognized as the driving force for ending violence against women locally and globally, these organizations are uniquely positioned to reach women and girl survivors of violence in their communities. They also represent key partners in localizing the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development while leaving no woman behind.

The UN Trust Fund provides a direct link for government partners to support civil society and women’s organizations at the grassroots level. It ensures that the life-changing work of these organizations is resourced, and that they are recognized as front line responders to the needs of women and girls worldwide.

The UN Trust Fund is grateful for the generous support of its partner governments.


Current government contributors

Austria, Canada, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Liechtenstein, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad & Tobago, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the United States of America, as well as the Spotlight Initiative, the joint effort of the European Union-United Nations to eliminate violence against women and girls. 

All government contributors since 1996

Antigua & Barbuda, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Honduras, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Mauritius, Monaco, Morocco, the Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Republic of Korea, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad & Tobago, Turkey, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and the United States of America, as well as the EU-UN Spotlight Initiative.